Until You Walk In My Shoes

Standard

An original poem, inspired by a figurative slap in the face I received today. I made a judgment about someone… and then I learned their story.

A Walk In My Shoes

You see me as fat
I walk with the notion that one more bite will fill this emptiness inside me

You see me as an addict
I walk with years of physical abuse that can only be forgotten when I swallow this pill or take that drink

You see me as a rebellious teen
I walk with constant ridicule and rejection

You see scars
I walk with reminders of the days when no one paid attention

You see me as ‘perfect’
I walk with fear of never being good enough

You see me as a Yogi
I walk in constant refinement

You see.
I am.

8 responses »

  1. It brought tears to my eyes and a stillness in thought while I pondered all that this poem says. Thank you for sharing. the line about perfection regulated with what that yoga life coach and I discussed last night. excited to share that experience with you. you are love and light!

  2. It brought tears to my eyes and a stillness in thought while I pondered all that this poem says. Thank you for sharing. the line about perfection resonated with what that yoga life coach and I discussed last night. excited to share that experience with you. you are love and light!

  3. Pingback: Remember Remember The Month Of September « Real Yogis Say '%#@!'

  4. I was inspired by your poem. I hope you don’t mind but I adapted it to an artist’s book and posted my effort (giving you credit of course) in the Bookmaking Adventures February Challenge. I’ve also posted my efforts on my blog. That was a truly inspirational poem.

  5. Pingback: Inspiration Begets Inspiration « Real Yogis Say '%#@!'

Leave a Reply

