The Importance of Play

Standard

I love teaching weekend classes.  The students in my Saturday AM classes typically exude a sense of adventure.  Perhaps it has something to do with letting go of the burdens of their work weeks.  Or maybe it is because the weekend classes are packed to the walls and everyone’s  energy is percolating to the ceiling.  Whatever it is, I feel more playful as a teacher and I see more playfulness and curiosity in my students on the weekends.    After teaching last Saturday, I decided I needed a little more playtime. I came back to the studio (the owner of our studio lets teachers practice there if it isn’t being used for another reason), cranked up my Ipod and began to PLAY.  I was inverting, arm balancing and vinyasa-ing like a mad woman!  It was so much fun!  I even built up the courage to do a handstand in the middle of the room.  I went up, I held it, and I began to teeter …I panicked, I yelped and then I went down like a tree in the forest.  I landed flat on my back.  Yowza!
As I lay on the floor, ears ringing from the force of the fall, I began to smile.  I was still alive.  I could wiggle my fingers and toes.  All in all, I was 100% OK.  My playfulness had taken me to my edge and I went over, literally.  And even the aftermath wasn’t so bad.

Later that day, I was invited to take part in a photo shoot for Awear Yoga Clothing.  Awear is owned by my soul sistah, Jill Fox.  She’s amazing and you should buy her clothing.  Nuff said.

Side Plank and Hanumanasana

 

The photo shoot was all about play.  Seeing what we could do (or couldn’t do), holding it, smiling and then starting over. Sounds pretty Zen, huh?  Or a lot like life?  You show up, do what you can, shake it off if you can’t and begin again. Simple I know, and it sounds almost too good to be true, but the beauty is IT IS TRUE!  When we approach our practice and our life with curiosity, with playfulness – we tend to see the big picture.  That big picture being we only have life one moment at a time.  So why not make those moments fun!

Jill, Rachel, Me and Shaina

 

 

Tetris Style

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hoping that you all get to experience a little play today.

Leave a Reply

