My Journey Into Power

Standard

I teach at The Funky Buddha Yoga Hothouse.  The Funky Buddha is the first hot yoga studio in West Michigan.  We teach Baptiste Power Vinyasa at the Funky Buddha and while I have yet to formally train with Baron Baptiste I have been reading his books and articles, listening & practicing to his podcasts (and those of his master teachers) and watching his videos  since the day I was introduced to his work.  I am hooked on Baptiste Power Vinyasa yoga!

This hasn’t always been the case.

I’ve studied Anusara.  Ashtanga.  Kripalu.  You name it.  While these disciplines/styles of yoga have all contributed to my growth as a student, it wasn’t until I was introduced to Baptiste Power Vinyasa* that I felt I could firmly stand on my place in this world. Baptiste Vinyasa and the philosophy which comes with it are the permission I’ve  needed to simply be myself without apology.  As soon as I opened Baron’s first book, Journey Into Power, I couldn’t put it down.

I had seen this book on yoga bookshelves before and I always passed on it because I thought, “Dude, what are you trying to prove? Buff guy with a bandanna does not = yoga”.  I was SO wrong!  Baron is on the cover of his book, in all of his buff-ass glory to say ‘Hey world, this is me! I take care of myself.  My body reflects this fact.  I’m not apologizing for who I am and neither should you!’ (Alright, so I have no idea what he’s actually saying, but this is my interpretation). Regardless of what he’s saying or not, I found absolute comfort and unconditional acceptance of myself through the pages of his book.  I no longer felt guilty for eating animals and animal products (nope, I’m not a vegetarian) and I no longer felt inadequate in the yoga world for not having traveled to some far away place to receive my teacher training. Through Journey into Power I came to see these and many other life altering realizations.  Mainly: That I do not need to be fixed, That I am not the sum of my mistakes, but the limitlessness of my possibility,  And that it is never too late to begin again.

Baptiste Power Vinyasa has changed my life.  It has changed my body, my ways of thinking and reacting, and my view of the world.  I wholeheartedly believe it can and will do the same for you.    If the hundreds of students that come to our classes each week aren’t proof enough,  I don’t know what is.

I’ll be attending a three-day workshop with Baron in March.  I’m already getting itchy with excitement!

*story on how I found Baptiste Power Vinyasa coming soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

